The Douglas R. Colton Medal for Research Excellence

Colton Medal

CMC Microsystems recognizes excellence in Canadian micro-nano research by Canada’s National Design Network through its annual Douglas R. Colton award. Established in honour of the founding president of CMC Microsystems, this award includes a medal and a monetary prize of $4,500.

Faculty, students or alumni who have successfully completed a Master’s or PhD degree in a Canadian university within the previous three calendar years are eligible for this award.

2022 Deadline: Friday, August 19

View the Nomination Guidelines  

2021 Winner

Atomic physics PhD student Taleana Huff, on January 24, 2017.

Dr. Taleana Huff  (University of Alberta)

Dr. Taleana Huff was awarded the 2021 Douglas R. Colton Medal for Research Excellence. For her Master’s degree and her PhD, Huff focused on “Atomic White-Out,” an error correction method for fabricating and patterning quantum dots. The technique gave Huff and the team the ability to successfully build atomic circuits, construct binary atomic wires and logic gates.  

This circuitry, built atom by atom could provide a new basis for electronic devices that are far more energy efficient, faster, and smaller than what is available today.

Read more

TEXPO Student Competition and Exposition

Established by CMC Microsystems, TEXPO offers graduate students in Canada’s National Design Network a unique opportunity to demonstrate their novel applications of micro-nano technologies to industry representatives and academic peers.

Students are invited to take part in TEXPO and compete for a total of $12,500 in awards in four categories:

2021 Winners

Excellence in Nanofabrication Award

Mahyar GhavamiMohammad Maadi

University of Alberta
Supervisor: Roger Zemp

Fabrication of Novel Realistic Capacitive Micromachined Ultrasonic Transducer (CMUT) Arrays for Medical Imaging and Therapeutic Applications

Sponsored by: Raith America, Inc.

Brian L. Barge Microsystems Integration Award

Laurent Chiasson-PoirierMathieu BergeronGuillaume Dion

Université de Sherbrooke 
Supervisor: Julien Sylvestre

Integrating processing and sensing in MEMS for biomechanical analysis 
Read Summary

Industrial Collaboration Award

Mahdi Behdani
University of Alberta
Supervisor: Rashid Mirzavand

A Miniaturized Portable Over-the-Air Measurement System for Characterization of 5G Integrated Communication Systems

Sponsored by: COMSOL

Read Summary

Micro-Nanosystems Design Award

Rahul Gulve

University of Toronto
Supervisor: Roman Genov

Energy-efficient Coded-Exposure-Pixel (CEP) Cameras for Accurate Computational Imaging without Motion Artifacts

Sponsored by: GlobalFoundries

Accelerate your project by adding CMC to your R&D team!

Scroll to Top
Skip to content